Pseudocereals: Definition And Use In The Kitchen | Dennispoint Campground MD

Anyone who wants or needs to eat gluten-free has often heard of pseudocereals and has often made them a regular part of their diet. When you first hold a packet of quinoa or buckwheat, questions come up, and we’ll answer them!


What distinguishes pseudocereals?

Pseudocereals are plants that do not belong to sweet grasses such as wheat, barley, rye or rice. However, the fruits of these plants, also called pseudocereals, are used in the same way as cereal grains, hence their name. Another difference between cereals and pseudocereals concerns the gluten content: pseudocereals do not contain gluten, while wheat and spelled, for example, contain gluten protein. Millet and rice, on the other hand, are gluten-free but count as grains. These facts are often confused, which is why chia seeds, millet, teff and other foods are mistakenly called pseudocereals. If the term is defined exactly, a short list of pseudocereals is obtained:

  • quinoa
  • amaranth or amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Canihua

Canihua, still little known in this country, is the seed of a goosefoot plant. The granules are closely related to quinoa and have a slightly chocolaty flavor.

Are pseudocereals low in carbohydrates?

If you want to save carbs with pseudocereals, it will only work to a limited extent. Although amaranth, canihua and quinoa contain slightly more protein than wheat, for example, the carbohydrate content per 100g is similar. Therefore, for a regular low-carbohydrate diet, pseudocereals are only suitable in small quantities. Whether recipes for quinoa or amaranth stew: here too, the dose is the energy.


What is a suitable substitute for cornstarch?

To replace cornstarch with another binder, you can use different types of flour such as potato, rice, locust bean gum or guar gum, psyllium husk or agar-agar. The latter is made up of red and blue-green algae and is native to Japan. If you want to use agar-agar as a substitute for cornstarch, you must first dissolve the powder in boiling water. After that, you can also use it as a substitute for vegan gelatin. Locust bean gum is also gluten-free and also free of animal products, which you can cook and cook with, but which is also suitable for binding cakes, puddings or jams.

Cooking with a cornstarch substitute

Cornstarch unites sauces, creams and soups, but it is also used if you want to try our homemade chips, for example. To thicken sauces, you can also use commercial flour as an alternative to starch. To avoid lumps, be sure to baste it through a strainer into the liquid. Remember, if you, a family member or guests have a gluten intolerance, wheat flour is not a suitable substitute for cornstarch. The egg also works but it is not suitable for a vegan or allergy diet. The situation is different if you use psyllium husks as a cornstarch substitute. They develop an effective binding effect, for example for soups, are suitable for a vegan diet and, like agar-agar, are gluten-free.

Cornstarch substitute for baking

It could be so simple: For the cake, just use baking powder instead of the cornstarch. Finished. However, the calculation does not quite match. Because if the starch is supposed to bind, the baking powder serves as a leavening agent, makes the dough airy and fluffy, and is therefore not a suitable alternative. If you don’t have cornstarch, you can simply use custard powder as a substitute. Because it mostly consists of cornstarch anyway. However, keep in mind that it naturally has its own flavor that must be matched to the cooking recipe. Rice, potato and guar gum, on the other hand, have a neutral flavor. The latter binds the liquid particularly effectively. All three alternatives are gluten-free and suitable for vegans. Our expert knows what you should eat if you are allergic to wheat.

Viennese pastries and breads made with pseudocereals: It is important to point out this

Due to the lack of gluten, there are some peculiarities when baking with buckwheat flour and other pseudocereals. For bread to hold together, for example, the gluten protein must be replaced by another binder. This doesn’t necessarily apply to pancakes and similar pseudocereal recipes: highly swollen buckwheat flour becomes viscous enough to cook in the pan even without binding ingredients. The traditional pancake recipe, buckwheat pancakes, requires only water, salt, and flour. By the way, like quinoa, buckwheat is a staple pseudo-cereal.



Leave a Comment